TOP

Trade & Distribution

As everywhere in Europe today, trading in Russia is present in two forms: "online" and "offline".

The trade called "online" or e-commerce has developed significantly in the last 5 years thanks to the progress in the Russian banking sector and the development of the delivery services. In 2013, E-commerce has enjoyed a 25% growth and projections for 2014 are of 30%. As indicated in these figures, it is a market with great potential and very promising for Western companies wishing to provide their expertise.

Regarding traditional commerce or "offline", the concepts of hypermarkets (10% of global market) or supermarkets and specialty stores (50% of the overall market to them 2) non-existent at the time of the USSR, have experienced rapid mutation in the 90's thanks to the import of Western models. This is the case of hypermarkets (Auchan appeared in 2002) located at the outskirts of large cities. There are also supermarkets (Perekriostok for example) and specialty stores in the city center on segments such as sport (Intersport), DIY (Leroy Merlin, Castorama ...) or housing (Ikea). The segment of discounters (magnit type) is itself considered to be saturated for foreigners because the network of kiosks, open markets and small convenience stores are still very popular in Russia.

Given the evolution of GDP and increasing Russian population, analysts predict many years of growth for these sectors. For example, Russia is already the largest market for the Auchan group, and e-commerce will become the first Russian market at European level by 2016.

 

Did you know?

  • By the end of 2014, Russia will become the country with the largest retail area with over 19 million m²
  • The Customs Union between Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus comprises a market of 170 million consumers
  • Armenia and Azerbaijan are candidates for accession to the Customs Union
  • The human factor plays a crucial role in trade in Russia
  • The "banya" remains one of favorite places to sign lucrative contracts
  • Auchan is the largest private employer of Russia with over 35 000 employees against 57 000 in France

TOP

Commerce & Distribution

Comme partout en Europe aujourd'hui, le commerce en Russie est présent sous deux formes: "online" et "offline".

Le commerce dit "online" ou e-commerce a connu un développement important ses 5 dernières années grâce aux progrès du secteur bancaire Russe ainsi qu'à l'évolution des moyens de livraison. En 2013, Le e-commerce a bénéficié d’une croissance de 25% et les projections pour 2014 sont de l'ordre de 30 %. Comme l’indique ces chiffres, c'est un marché à fort potentiel et très prometteur pour les sociétés occidentales souhaitant apporter leur expertise.

Concernant le commerce traditionnel ou "offline", les concepts de type hypermarchés (10% du marché globale) ou supermarchés et magasins spécialisés (50% du marché globale à eux 2) inexistants à l'époque de l'URSS, ont connu une rapide mutation dans les années 90 grâce à l'importation de modèles occidentaux. C'est le cas des hypermarchés (Auchan est apparu en 2002) situés aux périphéries des grandes villes. On retrouve aussi des supermarchés (Perekriostok par exemple) et des magasins spécialisés en centre ville sur des segments tels que le sport (Intersport), le bricolage (Leroy Merlin, Castorama...) ou l'habitation (Ikea). Le segment des discounters (type magnit) est quant à lui considéré comme saturé pour les étrangers du fait que le réseau des kiosques, des marchés ouverts et des petits magasins de proximité restent encore très populaires en Russie.

Etant donné l'évolution du PIB et l'augmentation de la population Russe, les analystes prédisent de nombreuses années de croissance pour ces secteurs d'activité. A titre d’exemple, la Russie est déjà le plus gros marché pour le groupe Auchan, et le E-Commerce Russe deviendra le 1er marché au niveau Européen à l'horizon 2016.

 

Le savez-vous ?

  • Fin 2014, la Russie deviendra le pays avec la plus grande surface commerciale avec plus de 19 millions de m²
  • L'union douanière entre la Russie, le Kazakhstan et la Biélorussie regroupe un marché de 170 millions de consommateurs
  • l'Arménie et l'Azerbaidjan sont candidats à l'adhésion à cette union douanière
  • Le facteur humain joue un rôle primordial dans le commerce en Russie
  • Le "bania" reste l'un des endroits préférés pour signer des contrats juteux
  • Auchan est le premier employeur privé de la Russie avec plus de 35 000 salariés contre 57 000 en France