TOP

Services Sector

The service sector represents over 60% of Russian GDP. Like its neighbors in the old Europe, this market is mainly composed of financial services, IT, social, education and other public services.

The financial market is one of the largest segments in the sector, with the Moscow stock market (MICEX-RTS) as an engine renowned worldwide as a safe place and constantly growing. The last decision (January 2013) to create a single regulator in Russia aims to secure financial transactions and thus ensure the stability that markets are looking for. Moreover, the largest Eastern European bank, Sberbank, is in Russia and ranks third in Europe in terms of capitalization, although this is unknown to the Western public.

The second largest segment consists of the IT market, which is the second largest market after India, and plays a fundamental role in the Russian economy. After a fall in 2009, the IT market has resumed its growth to more than $ 35 billion in 2013 with a projection of 46 billion dollars for 2017. Even if Moscow is one of the most expensive cities in the world for cost of living, salaries for IT professionals are much lower than in the West. Russia is a very good destination for Western companies wishing to outsource or relocate their R & D centers.

The social, public and educational services, legacy of the communist past, are very present in Russia and represent the third largest segment of services. For example, despite the dispersion of the population on the vast territory, the literacy rate of the population is the highest in the world: 99.6%. There are over 600 public establishments of higher education that train specialists in over 500 different sectors.

 

Did you know?

  • France is the first foreign investor in the financial sector
  • Sberbank is the 3rd European Development Bank in terms of market capitalization
  • Skolkovo is considered the Russian Silicon Valley
  • BRICS launched in 2014 their own development bank

TOP

Secteur des Services

Le secteur des services représente plus de 60% du PIB Russe. Comme pour ses voisins de la vieille Europe, ce marché est principalement composé des services financiers, informatiques, sociaux, éducatifs et autres services publics.

Le marché financier reste un des plus importants segments dans ce secteur, avec comme moteur la bourse de Moscou mondialement reconnue (MICEX-RTS) comme une place sûr et en pleine croissance. La dernière décision (janvier 2013) de créer un seul régulateur en Russie vise à sécuriser les opérations financières et garantir ainsi la stabilité que les marchés recherchent. De plus, la plus grande banque d'Europe orientale, Sberbank, se trouve en Russie et occupe la troisième position en Europe en termes de capitalisation, même si cela est méconnu du grand public occidental.

Le second plus gros segment est constitué par le marché informatique, deuxième marché mondial derrière l’Inde, qui joue un rôle fondamental pour l'économie russe. Après une chute en 2009, le marché informatique a repris sa croissance pour atteindre plus de 35 milliards de dollars en 2013 avec une projection de 46 milliards dollars pour 2017. Quand bien même Moscou est l'une des villes les plus chères au monde pour le coût de la vie, les salaires des informaticiens sont bien moins élevés qu'en occident. La Russie est donc une très bonne destination pour les entreprises occidentales qui souhaitent externaliser ou délocaliser leurs centres R&D.

Les services sociaux, publics et éducatifs, héritage du passé communiste, sont très présents en Russie et représente le troisième plus gros segment des services. A titre d’exemple, malgré la dispersion de la population sur le vaste territoire, le taux d'alphabétisation de la population est le plus élevé au monde: 99,6%. On dénombre plus de 600 d'établissement d'Etat d'enseignement supérieurs qui forment des spécialistes dans plus de 500 filières différentes.

 

Le savez-vous ?

  • La France est le 1er investisseur étranger dans le secteur financier
  • Sberbank est la 3ème banque européene en terme de capitalisation boursière
  • Skolkovo est consideré comme la Silicon Valley russe
  • Les BRICS lancent en 2014 leur propre banque de développement