TOP

Transport & Infrastructures

The area of the country (17 million square kilometers) makes the transport industry very important for the development of the Russian economy. Since Soviet times, the train remained the principal mean of transport for both people and goods transportation. This market is also still swallowed up by the state-owned Russian Railways (http://rzd.ru/) which has 80,000 km of roads. Significant progress is to be made in upgrading infrastructure, rolling stock and the creation of dedicated lines for freight transport.

Indeed, today the main goal in this market is the modernization of the rail network characterized by outdated cars, aging infrastructure and dissatisfied travelers by the provided services. Foreign manufacturers such as Alstom, Siemens and Bombardier have quickly grasped the opportunities of this market for the supply of locomotives, wagons of passengers and goods but also fast trains connecting major cities (Moscow, Nizhniy Novgorod and St.Petersboug).

Modernizations are also expected for the maritime fleet that continually crosses the Baltic Sea, the Black Sea, the Pacific Ocean and increasingly exploiting the Arctic: very strategic point for Russia regarding the oil wealth. Among the 41 largest ports in Russia, only 11 have the appropriate infrastructure for the import and export of goods, others require substantial renovation.

Urban transport is characterized by metros, buses, trolley buses and minibuses rather obsolete which do not incorporate yet modern information systems on their boards. Internal air freight is itself undeveloped although internal flights are gaining more and more popularity.

Sports events such as the Football World Championship 2018, the Olympic Winter Games 2014, the world championship of Formula 1 and other large exhibitions serve as a catalyst for the development of this infrastructure providing real opportunities for suppliers and investors foreigners.

 

Did you know?

  • Russia has nearly a million kilometers of road
  • Russia has the largest electrified rail network in the world
  • Russia is the largest tram market in the world
  • In 2015, in the Russian city Yekaterinburg, public transport will host the most modern tram "Russia One (R1)" nicknamed "IPhone on rails", produced entirely in Russia
  • Russia will invest over $ 3.5 billion in the renovation of railways in Crimea

TOP

Transport & Infrastructures

La superficie du pays (17 millions de kilomètres carrés) rend l'industrie des transports très importante pour le développement de l'économie russe. Depuis la période soviétique, le train est resté le principal moyen de locomotion tant pour le transport des personnes que pour le transport de marchandises. Ce marché est d’ailleurs toujours phagocyté par l'entreprise étatique RZhD (http://rzd.ru/) qui possède 80.000 km de voies. Des progrès importants sont encore à réaliser dans la modernisation des infrastructures, du matériel roulant et dans la création de lignes dédiées pour le transport de marchandises.

En effet, aujourd’hui le principal objectif sur ce marché est la modernisation du réseau de transport ferroviaire caractérisé par des wagons vétustes, des infrastructures vieillissantes et des voyageurs mécontents par le niveau des services. Des constructeurs étrangers comme Alstom, Siemens et Bombardier ont rapidement saisi les opportunités de ce marché concernant l'approvisionnement en locomotives, en wagons de passagers et marchandises mais aussi en trains rapides reliant les grandes villes (Moscou, St.Petersboug et Nijniy Novgorod).

Des modernisations sont également attendues pour la flotte maritime qui traverse continuellement la mer Baltique, la mer Noire, l'océan Pacifique et exploite de plus en plus l'Arctique: point très stratégique pour la Russie en vue des richesses pétrolières. Parmi les 41 grands ports en Russie, 11 uniquement ont les infrastructures adaptées pour l'import-export de marchandises, les autres nécessitent des lourds travaux de rénovation.

Le transport urbain est lui caractérisé par des métros, bus, trolleybus et minibus assez obsolètes n'intégrant pas encore de systèmes modernes d'information à leurs bords. Le fret aérien à l'intérieur du pays est quant à lui peu développé même si les vols internes gagnent de plus en plus de popularité.

Les événements sportifs tels que le championnat du monde de football 2018, les jeux olympiques d'hiver 2014, le championnat du monde de Formule 1 et autres grandes expositions serviront de catalyseur pour le développement de ces infrastructures offrant ainsi des réelles opportunités aux fournisseurs et investisseurs étrangers.

 

Le savez-vous ?

  • La Russie dispose de près d'un million de kilomètres de route
  • La Russie possède le plus important réseau ferré électrifié au monde
  • La Russie est le plus grand marché au monde pour les tramways
  • En 2015, dans la ville russe Ekaterinbourg, les transports publics accueilleront le tramway le plus moderne "Russia One (R1)" surnommé "Iphone sur rails", produit intégralement en Russie
  • La Russie va investir plus de 3,5 milliards de dollars dans la rénovation des chemins de fer en Crimée